WHY WE BLEEP 005: OLIVIER GILLET - MUTABLE INSTRUMENTS

 
MUTABLE LOGO SQUARE.jpg

This month I'm very excited to present a chat with perhaps one of the most mysterious and well-respected characters in the Eurorack world - Olivier Gillet of Mutable Instruments.

In it we discuss his route into music technology, his module development process, the importance of daydreaming, and some quite surprising facts regarding the size of his company, and much more besides.

Notes:

Here are links to good stuff mentioned throughout this podcast!

Firstly, thanks for helping pose questions:
James Carruthers: http://twitter.com/jamescarruthers / https://twitter.com/nobotsno
Tom Armitage: https://foxfield-instruments.com/ / https://twitter.com/tom_armitage


Data Cult Podcast: https://soundcloud.com/datacultaudio/data-cult-audio-0059-mylar-melodies
Buy the Data Cult Set (and more) at my bandcamp: http://mylarmelodies.bandcamp.com

Mutable Instruments: https://mutable-instruments.net/
CyliC: http://defectiverecords.com/cyclic/index2.html
Music Think Mikrophonie: http://musicthing.co.uk/pages/mikrophonie.html
VCV Rack: https://vcvrack.com/
Graphical Scores: http://www.classicfm.com/discover-music/latest/graphic-scores-art-music-pictures/crumb-twelve-fantasy-pieces-after-zodiac-ampl/

Musicians referenced by Olivier:
Lightbath: https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCNcpKG4D0_nxBYwtgD4iA7w
Iannis Xenakis: https://www.theguardian.com/music/tomserviceblog/2013/apr/23/contemporary-music-guide-xenakis
Portishead: http://www.portishead.co.uk/
Sam Prekop: http://www.thrilljockey.com/artists/sam-prekop
John Brooks (Advisory Circle): https://ghostbox.co.uk/
Scanner: http://scannerdot.com/

Buy Eurorack and other fine kit from episode sponsors Signal Sounds: http://www.signalsounds.com (Tell 'em we sent you)

This Episode on YouTube: https://youtu.be/oiZVuAXHEeQ

LISTEN ON APPLE PODCASTS: https://itunes.apple.com/gb/podcast/why-we-bleep/id1338201154

 
PodcastAlex Theakston